Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Microbiology / BIOL& 260 AW : Home

Resources for B. Brady's Class

Purpose

This guide provides resources for Brian Brady's Library Research Assignment

Please be sure to read your assignment carefully before you begin!

OneSearch

OneSearch is the Skagit Valley College library catalog.

Searching the catalog will provide not only books that are located in the 2 campus libraries but also: eBooks, streaming videos, articles in journals and some of the databases. 

OneSearch Search Box:

Databases

Databases provide online, mostly full-text articles from journals, magazines, newspapers, and other sources.

To log in from off-campus, you will use your SVC username and password


The following links are some of the databases that may be especially helpful for your research:

Internet Searches

  • Google Advanced Search for academic purposes, this option can help you locate information more efficiently and of better quality when searching the Internet. (try search domain names .edu or .gov)
  • Google Scholar if you encounter a pay wall, please ask a librarian for help

Suggested websites from your instructor:

Science news sites (for background information only):

Books and eBooks in the Library - click cover to view & arrow to view more

The Chimp and the River

The real story of AIDS--how it originated with a virus in a chimpanzee, jumped to one human, and then infected more than 60 million people--is very different from what most of us think we know. 

The Pandemic Century

Ever since the 1918 Spanish influenza pandemic, scientists have dreamed of preventing catastrophic outbreaks of infectious disease. Yet despite a century of medical progress, viral and bacterial disasters continue to take us by surprise, inciting panic and dominating news cycles.

Virus

An essential illustrated guide to the 101 most fascinating viruses Virus offers an unprecedented look at 101 incredible microbes that infect all branches of life on Earth--from humans and other animals to insects, plants, fungi, and bacteria. 

Crisis in the Red Zone

A wake-up call about the future of emerging viruses and a gripping account of the doctors and scientists fighting to protect us, told through the story of the deadly 2013-2014 Ebola epidemic. 

ACP Medicine

ACP journal bound in loose leaf notebook. Located at the WIC Library Reference Desk

The Zika Virus

eBook: The Zika Virus covers the Zika outbreak that began in 2015, discusses the history of the virus and its discovery, examines how the virus spreads and how it affects the infected, and looks at how the medical community is fighting it. 

Emerging Infectious Diseases Sourcebook

eBook: Provides basic consumer information about emerging infectious diseases, guidelines for recognizing and treating these diseases, and includes a glossary of related terms, a directory of resources, and an index.

Human Emerging and Re-Emerging Infections, 2 Volume Set

eBook: Emerging and re-emerging pathogens pose several challenges to diagnosis, treatment, and public health surveillance, primarily because pathogen identification is a difficult and time-consuming process due to the "novel" nature of the agent.Volume 1 addresses viral and parasitic infections, while volume 2 delves into bacterial and mycotic infections. 

Best Practices For Research

Build effective search terms:

  • Use quotation marks around search terms to indicate a phrase.
    • i.e. "vibrio cholerae", "cholera pathogenesis" 
  • Use only significant keywords with the words AND (to join terms), OR (to provide alternative terms), NOT (to eliminate undesirable words) to help clarify the search.
    • i.e. "vibrio cholerae" OR "cholera toxin" AND enterotoxin 
  • Keep track of search terms that have worked. Use them in multiple places.
  • Mine your search results for better keywords to improve your research strategy

Some research tips:

  • Allow your research to shift and change as your understanding of your topic grows
  • When reading Scholarly or Peer-reviewed work > pay special attention to the Introduction and the Discussion parts of the article
  • Be aware that many library resources provide additional links to suggested or related articles, use them wisely, going down enticing rabbit holes can also waste time!

3 Simple tips to keep in mind when establishing the credibility of your research findings:

  • WHO wrote or supported the article and what identifies their expertise? What is the authority behind the work?
  • WHEN was the information produced/created/tested? Is there more recent information available?
  • WHY what is the purpose or intention of the information, why does it exist? and who is the intended audience?

Citing Sources in APA format

Features of a Peer-Reviewed Article

When you are determining whether or not the article you found is a peer-reviewed article, you should consider the following.

Does the article have the following features?

Image of the first page of a peer-reviewed article. These items are highlighted: Been published in a scholarly journal.   An overall serious, thoughtful tone.   More than 10 pages in length (usually, but not always).   An abstract (summary) on the first page.  Organization by headings such as Introduction, Literature Review, and Conclusion.  Citations throughout and a bibliography or reference list at the end.  Credentialed authors, usually affiliated with a research institute or university.

Library Help

WE ARE HERE TO HELP!


Library open hours on campus for school year 22-23

Mount Vernon Campus Library

On-campus & remote:

M & Th 9 am - 4 pm

Tu & W 9 am - 7 pm

Fri 9 am - 12 pm

Whibdey Island Campus Library

On-campus & remote:

M - Th 9 am - 5 pm

Fri 9 am - 12 pm

Academic Calendar


For more information, see our:


Campus Covid-19 Information

All Content CC-BY.