Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Building a Library Research Strategy: Search Library Databases

This guide will help students develop a research strategy for finding information for papers or projects.

Why search library databases?

Library databases are the best places to do in-depth research.

 

You can look for full-text online articles from newspapers, journals, academic and popular sources. You can also locate peer-reviewed sources.

These sources are reliable, stable, and searchable by keywords or phrases, or  subject areas, and provide filters by date range, type of source, and other helpful tools.


All of the databases are accessible from off campus.

When prompted, you will log in with your full MYSVC username and password (first initial then last 4 numbers of CTClink@mysvc.skagit.edu - example: jrosas1234@mysvc.skagit.edu)

What are library databases? Video

from Yavapai College Library (Permission to reuse this video .You may embed this YouTube video in your course, class, website, LMS, and/or LibGuides site.)

Build a Search Strategy (7:22)

How to Find and Use eBooks (10:00)

SVC Library Databases

Which database you choose depends on your topic, but the following are some of the general research databases to try:

Academic Search Complete (see tutorial)

eBook Central (see tutorial)

JStor

Proquest (see tutorial)


You can search all of our databases in the A-Z list from the library homepage. Click the link or from the Library Homepage, it will look like this:

How to Use Academic Search Complete (15:56)

How to Use Proquest (8:50)

All Content CC-BY.