Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Economics Guide: Search Research Databases

This research guide shows the best sources of information in economics.

ProQuest Article Database

  • an article database of magazines, journals and newspaper
  • most of the articles are full-text, you can read the complete article online
  • it has Wall Street Journal, an important source of economic information
  • citations can be created in APA, MLA or other formats

Hints for searching ProQuest

  • Check out our Proquest tutorial video
  • use quotation around search terms, for example "federal reserve" to retrieve that exact wording
  • be brief, use only important terms
  • use Search options to limit your search: for example: date range (you can limit your results to the last 3 months, etc.), a particular company (ProQuest helps you look up companies)
  • When you get your results you can limit to a particular year: look at the options on right hand side of the page, you can click on the date range desired 
  • use TAB for Wall Street Journal to find instruction for finding articles and capturing article URLs

EbscoHost

  • articles from magazines, journals and newspapers (newspapers are not full text)
  • has 100's of eonomic journals and magazines
  • is easy to use
  • is considered very scholarly
  • citations are availabe in MLA, APA, etc.
  • you can email articles

Hints for using Academic Search Complete

  • Check out our Academic Search Complete tutorial
  • don't use too many words: be brief
  • use more than one search box, one for each important term
  • be sure to click on Full Text so you will be able to read the complete article
  • use the Search Options below the search boxes: limit to particular dates, limit to scholarly sources
  • you can limit the dates of your results by using the date slide on the left hand side of the results

Try these article databases as needed

Additional Related SVC Databases

All Content CC-BY.