Research Guides: Early Childhood Education & Education Paraprofessional: Find Articles

Article Databases

The SVC Library Databases offer online articles and research on a variety of topics. Use them for research papers and projects.

Use the A-Z list of databases OR try the links below for your research:

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Features journals and magazines with a few newspapers. Like ProQuest there are full-text articles available for printing, copying, e-mailing, creating lists and with citation help. Login with full SVC email address and password.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Information on hundreds of people from business, politics, art, science and more. Login with full SVC email address and password.
Credo Reference Database This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia source, including Encyclopedia of the United States in the 19th Century. Good source for images and graphics. Log in from home using MYSVC login & password.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
EBSCOhost database that provides access to information related to education. Log in with full SVC email address and password.
Facts on File: Issues and Controversies This link opens in a new window
In-depth investigations of today's top issues, featuring pro/con arguments. Primary source documents show up in search results if available. Log in with full SVC email address and password.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Features thousands of magazine,newspaper and journal titles. Includes national newspapers like the New York Times and Wall Street Journal. Log in with full SVC email address and password.

Sample of full-text scholarly journals which focus on Early Childhood Education found in EbscoHost Academic Search Premier or ProQuest.

To find the best articles, search for articles by subject / topic and/or keywords. Articles can be found in a wide variety of journals.

Childhood Education
Journal of the Association of Childhood Education International
Early Childhood Education Journal
One-year delay in full-text in Ebscohost. Education and care of children from birth through age 8.
more...less...
Scholarly peer-reviewed full-text - EBSCOHOST
Exceptional Children
Original research on the education and development of exceptional infants, toddlers, children and youth.
more...less...
Scholarly peer-reviewed full-text - EBSCOHOST
Journal of Early Intervention
Research and practice for infants and young children with special needs.

ECRP - Early Childhood Research & Practice
Access archive ( no longer publishing) Peer-reviewed open access bilingual internet journal on early childhood care and education. Lilian G. Katz editor. Searchable
Early Childhood Today : Scholastic
Free online periodical & website to serve early childhood professionals.
Young Children
Peer-reviewed journal. Some selected articles and complete index available free on-line, current and archived.
Zero to Three
ZERO TO THREE is a national, nonprofit organization that informs, trains, and supports professionals, policymakers, and parents in the lives of infants and toddlers.