Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry 162--Poster Assignment: Research Sources

This guide is a resource for Chemistry 162 taught by Aly Lambert

Where to Search

  1. OneSearch: The library catalog allows students to search for print books, eBooks, DVDs, CDs, article databases, and web pages all at once. This is a good place to look for an overview of what is available.

  2. The Library Databases provide more in-depth complex search results. Look here for specific research themes and academic content. (for more, see the library databases box on this page)

 

The Library Catalog

The Library Catalog is the search tool for finding library information. It's like Google for the SVC library - you can search everything in one place.

You will find a listing of physical items such as books, streaming video, CDs, and eBooks.

Search by typing in essential keywords, subjects, or terms. You can also search for specific titles or authors as well as items on reserve.

Try a search in OneSearch in the box below:

OneSearch Tutorial (16 min.)

Library Databases

You will need to find sources to support the information you provide on your posters. 

The library databases provide articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. 

Database resources include:

The following are specific databases for finding supporting sources for posters.  Don't forget to cite your sources!

Encyclopedias and Other Reference Books:

  • Credo Reference  A collection of 100 reference book titles, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and more.  Topics include arts. history, politics, science, and popular culture.
  • Gale Virtual Reference  Includes Environmental Encyclopedia.

Journal Article Databases:

  • EBSCO Academic Search Premier  Provides access to information from a wide range of academic areas, including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science, education and multicultural studies.
  • ProQuest  Provides coverage of all subject areas within magazines, journals, and newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington State Newsstand
  • Science Direct  Use to find full-text journal articles in biology, health and other sciences. 
  • Environment Complete  Find academic articles from select journals and other publications focusing on the environment.
  • JStor: Life Sciences

All databases can be accessed off-campus by clicking on a database.  You will be prompted to enter your MySVC/Canvas login and password.

All Content CC-BY.