Skip to main content

Economics: Article Databases

This research guide shows the best sources of information in economics.

ProQuest Article Database

ProQuest Direct.

  • an article database of magazines, journals and newspaper
  • most of the articles are full-text, you can read the complete article online
  • it has Wall Street Journal, an important source of economic information
  • citations can be created in APA, MLA or other formats

Hints for searching ProQuest

  • use quotation around search terms, for example "federal reserve" to retrieve that exact wording
  • be brief, use only important terms
  • use Search options to limit your search: for example: date range (you can limit your results to the last 3 months, etc.), a particular company (ProQuest helps you look up companies)
  • When you get your results you can limit to a particular year: look at the options on right hand side of the page, you can click on the date range desired 
  • use TAB for Wall Street Journal to find instruction for finding articles and capturing article URLs

EbscoHost

Academic Search Premier

  • articles from magazines, journals and newspapers (newspapers are not full text)
  • has 100's of eonomic journals and magazines
  • is easy to use
  • is considered very scholarly
  • citations are availabe in MLA, APA, etc.
  • you can email articles

Hints for using Academic Search Premier

  • don't use too many words: be brief
  • use more than one search box, one for each important term
  • be sure to click on Full Text so you will be able to read the complete article
  • use the Search Options below the search boxes: limit to particular dates, limit to scholarly sources
  • you can limit the dates of your results by using the date slide on the left hand side of the results

Try these article databases as needed

Facts on File: Issues and Controversies

  • provides pro/cons on social issues - economics is one
  • use keywords to search
  • results include: articles, breaking news, political cartoons, and reference from dictionaries and encyclopedias
  • limit to particular dates

Credo Reference

  • find definitions of terms from 100 encyclopedias and dictionaries, economics is covered
  • email articles and designate citation format needed

Statistical Abstract of the United States

  • statistics gathered by federal government, states and international sources
  • charts can be put into Excel
  • citations are provided for MLA and APA
  • url for each chart is provided
****Please note that the College is on remote operations due to concerns related to Covid -19. Find out about Library Services during this time.
All Content CC-BY.