Skip to Main Content

National Hispanic/Latinx Heritage Month

Provides resources, links, and information

What is this Guide for?

This guide celebrates and provides resources on

National Hispanic/Latiné Heritage Month

Use the tabs on the left to navigate this guide


About National Hispanic Heritage Month

From the NEA Website:

Each year, Americans observe National Hispanic Heritage Month from September 15 to October 15, by celebrating the histories, cultures and contributions of American citizens whose ancestors came from Spain, Mexico, the Caribbean and Central and South America.

The observation started in 1968 as Hispanic Heritage Week under President Lyndon Johnson and was expanded by President Ronald Reagan in 1988 to cover a 30-day period starting on September 15 and ending on October 15. It was enacted into law on August 17, 1988, on the approval of Public Law 100-402.

The day of September 15 is significant because it is the anniversary of independence for Latin American countries Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and Nicaragua. In addition, Mexico and Chile celebrate their independence days on September 16 and September18, respectively. Also, Columbus Day or Día de la Raza, which is October 12, falls within this 30 day period.

Executive and Legislative Documents

Legal Resources Guide prepared by the Law Library of Congress.

Terminology: Hispanic, Latino/e/a, or Latinx?

All Content CC-BY.