Disability Awareness Guide

This page provides research resources

• When doing research on a topic, the more specific the terms entered into a search box, the fewer results you will get. 
• Good practice means that you may have to experiment with your terms and use the results you find to help you hone in on the best ones for your needs.
• Combine 2 terms with the word AND to refine a search
• Use OR between to words to search for 2 related options 

Here are some examples of search terms linked to the library catalog:

Accessibility

Accommodation

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

Developmental Disabilities

Disability

Disabilities

Individualized Education Plan (IEP)

Physical Disabilities

Psychiatric Disabilities

Social Disabilities

Section 504

1. What are databases for? Use the research databases to locate in-depth research articles in newspapers, magazines, and scholary journals or academic sources. Search with specific search terms
   • More about identifying sources
   • More about search terms: Searching Databases with Keywords Tutorial On YouTube from Lehman Library (3 min.)
2. How do I start? To do a search, select a database (if off campus, login with your SVC username and password) and enter your terms
3. LINKS:
   • Research Databases A-Z List
   • Video Tutorials on specific databases and other tips
   • Video Tutorials about accessible design tools

Try searching our streaming film/media databases, these can also count as research sources (check with your instructor first)

• List of Streaming Media 
• How to search streaming videos tutorial