Skip to Main Content
Search this Guide
Music Guide: Websites
Library and online resources for music students
Web Search Tips
Limit searches to domains (like .edu, .org, .ca, etc.)
Search for terms only in a part of a document, like the title
To search for exact phrases, use quotation marks (eg: "SVC Library")
Who wrote it?
What is the website about?
When was it created or updated?
Where does it come from - government, business, educational institution?
Why was it created - to sell a product, to provide opinions, to educate?
A few useful websites to get you started on your research.
Comprehensive music blog with news, reviews and more
American Folklife Collections Online
From the Library of Congress, collections of American folk and traditional music.
British Library Music Collection
Find historical music examples from the British Library; some collections are available online.
ChoralNet: The Internet Center for Choral Music
Downloadable Blank Music Sheets
Allows for download of blank sheet music in a variety of formats, including treble, bass, alto, tenor, piano.
IAWM: International Alliance for Women in Music
Indiana University Sound Recordings Online
Thousands of audio recordings from Indiana University. Online concerts for a variety of genres.
Library of Congres National Jukebox
Freely available collection of historic recordings from various Library of Congress collections.
Search Google Scholar
African Music Archives
From Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz, GermanyThe regional focus is on Ethiopia, Ghana, Cameroon, Congo, Kenya, Nigeria and Tanzania.
Anthropology of Music
From Johannes Gutenberg-University Mainz, Germany. Features African Music Archives
Voices of the First People
Collections of music from the Vi Hilbert Collection, University of Washington Dept. of Ethnomusicology.
Archive of Maori and Pacific Music Collections
From the University of Aukland
British Library World Music Online
Recordings from the British Library's collections of World Music, organized by continent.
Irish Traditional Music Archive
Includes sound recordings, books, videos, manuscripts and images selected from the physical collections.
Sep 21, 2023 4:50 PM
Login to LibApps
Report a problem.
Arts & Music