Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Building a Library Research Strategy: Search Library Databases & Catalog

This guide will help students develop a research strategy for finding information for papers or projects.

Library Databases

Which database you choose depends on your topic, but the following are some of the general research databases to try:

Academic Search Complete (see tutorial below)

eBook Central (see tutorial below)

JStor

Proquest (see tutorial below)


You can search all of our databases in the A-Z list from the library homepage. Click the link or from the Library Homepage, it will look like this:

1 Minute Videos

Login with your MySVC/Canvas username & password

How to Find Relevant Sources

Why You Need Many Sources

Database Tutorials: Proquest

Database Tutorials: Academic Search Complete

How to Find and Use ebooks

Searching OneSearch - the SVC Library Catalog

Search the SVC library catalog - you can search everything the library owns or subscribes to here.

Watch the OneSearch video tutorial below if you need help.

What are Primary and Secondary Sources? Scholarly or Popular Sources? Peer Review?

You'll find a whole guide to answer any questions about identifying sources.

How to read a Scholarly Article: Youtube video

Video created by the Undergraduate Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, using Powtoon.

Awesome Websites

Sometimes websites can provide excellent resources to support your ideas. Make sure you are checking the credibility of the internet source by checking with your instructor, a librarian, or by using tools for evaluating sources.

The following are a few reliable internet sources to try:

  • Allsides - Balanced news/ media bias 
  • Brookings Institution - Non-profit Public Policy. Researches societal issues.
  • Data.gov - Open data from the U.S. Government
  • Futurity - Research news from top universities
  • OECD (Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development) - Provides evidence-based international data on a range of global issues 
  • Pew Research - Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world.
  • Snopes.com - Fact checking site
  • World Factbook from the CIA - Provides information on the history, people and society, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
****Please note that the College is on remote operations due to concerns related to Covid -19. Find out about Library Services during this time.
All Content CC-BY.