Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Article Databases

Guide to Resources in Psychology

Steps for Searching Databases

1. CHOOSE A TOPIC  

2. PREPARE YOUR SEARCH

  • Make a list of keywords or search terms

3. CHOOSE A DATABASE 

 4. KEEP YOUR FIRST SEARCHES SIMPLE 

  • Try using 1 keyword first, before trying the Boolean connectors: AND, OR, or NOT to combine 2 or more concepts.

5. REVIEW YOUR RESULTS

  • Too many records ? Consider changing your terms or narrow your topic to something more specific, for example:
    • Instead of "dogs" try "service dogs"
    • Try a specific group (like "young adults"),
    • Try a certain geographical location (like "United States"),
    • Try a specific date range (like "2015-2020")
  • Too few records? Try synonyms, fewer keywords, or broader terms. Use OR between terms to expand the search, for example:
    • Instead of "service canines that help with post traumatic stress syndrome", try "service dogs" AND PTSD OR trauma

6. GET THE ARTICLE

  • Make sure you can locate full-text articles (pdf or html format) then email, download or print

7. CHECK THE CITATION

  • Almost all of the databases have a tools that will provide a citation in any format for an article. Look to right side for a "cite" button 

8. LOOK AGAIN!

  • If you aren't finding what you need, or if you are feeling confident and want to keep going, try looking at other databases or in other sources. Or Ask a Librarian for help.

SVC Databases for Psychology

Check out the databases below for access to full-text, online articles from academic journals, magazines, newspapers, and more.

Once you become familiar searching them you can try some others from our A-Z list of databases.

Remember - almost all database articles will provide tools so you can find citation, email & printing options, and other information.

For off campus access, use your MySVC/Canvas login and password.  

SVC Library Guides

More help with research can be found:

Building a Library Research Strategy Guide

Evaluating Websites Guide

Identifying Sources Guide

****Please note that the College is on remote operations due to concerns related to Covid -19. Find out about Library Services during this time.
All Content CC-BY.