Nursing Websites on the Internet
National Institute of Nursing Research - works to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, and communities. To achieve this mission, NINR supports and conducts clinical and basic research and research training on health and illness, research that spans and integrates the behavioral and biological sciences, and that develops the scientific basis for clinical practice.
List of Nursing Organizations form Nurse.org - links to national and state nursing organizations.
CDC (National Center for Disease Control) - Provides information on health, disease and disease prevention, including information about specific diseases, disabilities, injuries, occupational health risks, and other health issues.
Cochrane Reviews - A Cochrane Review is a systematic review of research in health care and health policy that is published in the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.
EthnoMed - Contains information about cultural beliefs, medical issues and other related issues pertinent to the health care of recent immigrants to Seattle, many of whom are refugees fleeing war-torn parts of the world.
Gero Nurse Online - The official geriatric nursing website of the American Nurses Assn (ANA). It was developed through the Nurse Competence in Aging initiative to provide information regarding nursing care of older adults.
How to Deal with College Stress as a Medical & Healthcare Student - From recognizing the signs and sources to knowing when and where to get help, here’s how to keep stress from getting the best of you in school
MediLexion - An online resource containing all pharmaceutical acronyms and abbreviations and their meanings.
MedlinePlus - From the National Library of Medicine provides one of the best places to find information on diseases and conditions as well as a medical dictionary, medical encyclopedia, drug information and patient tutorials.
MedPix - A free online Medical Image Database with over 59,000 indexed and curated images, from over 12,000 patients, presented by the National Library of Medicine.
Merck Manuals for the Professional - Medical information of the day for a wide cross-section of users, including medical professionals and students, veterinarians and veterinary students, and consumers. Includes interactive 3D models and videos