Skip to Main Content

Student Research Guide WQ23/ Phone Use and its Effects on Sleep

By KVS

Top 11 Resources

  • EBSCOHOST DATABASE: Al-khlaiwi, Thamir, and Syed Shahid Habib. “Association of Excessive Mobile Phone Usage with Sleep Quality and Fatigue Severity: An Epidemiologic Survey in Saudi Population.” Khyber Medical University Journal, vol. 13, no. 2, June 2021, pp. 60–65. EBSCOhost, https://doi-org.skagit.idm.oclc.org/10.35845/kmuj.2021.20531.
    • Thamir Al-khlaiwi is an academic researcher from King Saud University in the physiology field. Syed Shahid Habib also works at King Saud University as a consultant in the department of physiology. This study’s purpose was to find the association between phone usage and sleep fatigue, they accomplished this by giving standard questionnaires to phone users in Saudi Arabia. They concluded that excessive phone use is associated with excessive fatigue and poor sleep quality.  
  • EBSCOHOST DATABASE: Bi, Jingwen. “The Relationship between Mobile Phone Anxiety and Sleep Quality Occupational Therapy in Adolescents and Its Internal Mechanism.” Occupational Therapy International, Sept. 2022, pp. 1–9. EBSCOhost, https://doi-org.skagit.idm.oclc.org/10.1155/2022/8489077.
    • This journal focuses on reviewing occupational therapy practices from all over the world. This article concluded that excessive cell phone use directly leads to smartphone anxiety which can lead to worse sleep quality.  
  • EBSCOHOST DATABASE: Chandran, Suhas, et al. “A Comparative Study of Screen Time, Sleep Duration and Behavioural Disturbances in Urban and Rural High School Children.” Journal of Indian Association for Child & Adolescent Mental Health, vol. 16, no. 4, Oct. 2020, pp. 119–41. EBSCOhost, search.ebscohost.com/login.aspxdirect=true&db=a9h&AN=146641546&site=ehost-live.
    • Dr. Suhas Chandran specializes in child and adolescent psychiatry. This study took 60 urban and rural highschoolers in India to see what their screentime was and how that affected their sleep. They concluded the adolescents in both environments didn’t get sufficient sleep due to technology use.  
  • GOOGLE: Hardy, James. "The Complete History of Phones from the last 500 years." History Cooperative, 2022 February 16. Google, https://historycooperative.org/history-of-phones/.
    • History Cooperative is dedicated to creating timelines. They believe in the importance of knowing how something got from point A to point B. They want to let people know how certain decisions and actions have the power impact the future, and the want their readers to know they have that same power. 
  • PUBMED DATABASE: Li, Xiaojing et al. “Youths' Habitual Use of Smartphones Alters Sleep Quality and Memory: Insights from a National Sample of Chinese Students.” International Journal of Environmental Research and Public Health, vol. 18, no. 5, 2021 February 25, PubMed.gov, doi: 10.3390/ijerph18052254.
    • Xiaojing Li is a professor at Shanghai Jiaotong University. This study looked at the relation between habitual cell phone use and its impact on sleep quality. They concluded that cell phones play a key role in not just sleep but in everyday home and school life.  
  • PUBMED DATABASE: Mireku, Michael O et al. “Night-time screen-based media device use and adolescents' sleep and health-related quality of life.” Environment international, vol. 124, March 2019, pp. 66 - 78. PubMed.gov, doi: 10.1016/j.envint.2018.11.069.
    • Michael Mireku is a senior lecturer at the University of Lincoln. This study focuses on the correlation between phone use 1 hour before sleep in different environments on pre-teens and sleep quality. They conclude that nightly phone use in a dark room is the most harmful to sleep quality.  
  • GOOGLE: News in Health. "Good Sleep For Good Health." News In Health, Googlehttps://newsinhealth.nih.gov/2021/04/good-sleep-good-health.
    • News in Health is a monthly newsletter released by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). NIH's reason for doing this is to provide people with quality medical advice. All their newsletters are reviewed by scientists at medical schools/universities and medical experts that work with NIH. 
  • ESCOHOST DATABASE: Paterson, Jessica L., et al. “Barriers and Enablers to Modifying Sleep Behavior in Adolescents and Young Adults: A Qualitative Investigation.” Behavioral Sleep Medicine, vol. 17, no. 1, Jan. 2019, pp. 1–11. EBSCOhost, https://doi-org.skagit.idm.oclc.org/10.1080/15402002.2016.1266489.
    • Jessica Paterson is a senior lecturer at Central Queensland University. This study was conducted to see how many changes, if any, young adults are willing to make to their sleep behaviors, including cell phone use. They found that cell phones and using technology for socialization are the biggest barrier for young adults to overcome if they want to set healthy sleeping habits.
  • PUBMED DATABASE: Randler, Christoph et al. “Smartphone addiction proneness in relation to sleep and morningness-eveningness in German adolescents.” Journal of Behavioral Addictions, vol. 5, no. 3, 2016 August 6, pp. 465 - 473. PubMed.gov, doi: 10.1556/2006.5.2016.056.
    • Christoph Randler is a biology professor at the University of Tuebingen. This study was trying to see who was more prone to phone addiction in adolescents in Germany. They concluded that girls who use their phones most in the evening are the most prone to cell phone addiction.  
  • PUBMED DATABASE: Shin, Jong Cheol et al. “Mobile Phone Interventions for Sleep Disorders and Sleep Quality: Systematic Review.” JMIR mHealth and uHealth, vol. 5, no. 9, 2017 September 7, PubMed.gov, doi: 10.2196/mhealth.7244.
    • Jong Cheol Shin is an assistant professor at Lehigh University. This study was testing to see if phone use could affect sleep disorders and sleep quality in a positive way. They concluded that cell phone interventions can help improve sleep disorders and sleep quality in certain situations.
  • PUBMED DATABASE: Tettamanti, Giorgio et al. “Long-term effect of mobile phone use on sleep quality: Results from the cohort study of mobile phone use and health (COSMOS).” Environment International, vol. 140, July 2020, PubMed.gov, doi: 10.1016/j.envint.2020.105687.
    • Giorgio Tettamanti is a postdoc that studies the risk factors in relation to childhood and adult tumors. This study is trying to find long-term effects on sleep caused by cell phone use. They concluded that there are no long-term effects on sleep quality caused by cell phone use.        

Top 5-10 Recommended Keywords/Search Terms

  1. Phone 
  2. Phone Use
  3. Sleep
  4. Sleep Quality 
  5. Sleep Disorder 
  6. Affected Sleep
All Content CC-BY.