Skip to main content

Poetry Alive Guide: Databases

Resources for poetry from around the world

Article Databases

 

Article databases are sources of scholarly as well as non-scholarly articles in journals magazines and newspapers.   EbscoHost and ProQuest are general article databases which means they cover a wide variety of subjects. You can locate either database on the library homepage under SEARCH LIBRARY DATABASES.   You may find poems in either database by entering a search in the following format:


Enter the name of the country in the first search box, you may enter a portion of the country name followed by an asterisk such as:   German*  (entering a partial name with the * may pull up greater results.)  

Scroll down the search page and find the box titled:  DOCUMENT TYPE.   You can click on POEM in this box. 

Make sure you are doing a full text search and the results will include any articles that have poems from your specified country.


You may be asked for your SVC logon and password to access these databases.

 


 

Films on Demand

Films on Demand is a wonderful database of documentary films.  When you search for a topic you will get a list of film clips you can use for a class presentation or include the url in your paper.  You can create a playlist of film clips (the clips you will use again).  The directions are easy to follow.  When you use Films on Demand from home - you will need your SVC logon and password.  SVC's Films on Demand are in the Social Sciences includes Ethnic Studies. 

Films on Demand

Culturgrams

Culturgrams is a database in the library catalog.  By choosing WORLD EDITIONS, you can select the country that interests you.  This database includes brief information about government, religion, and various cultural aspects.  It is a good source for basic information about a country.

Film clip from Films on Demand

The link below takes you to a Films on Demand clip on what Poetry is and what is means in Mexico.  Films on Demand has over 866 different video clips about poetry.

****Please note that the College is on remote operations due to concerns related to Covid -19. Find out about Library Services during this time.
All Content CC-BY.