Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Nursing Research Guide: Find Articles

This guide provides help in find reliable nursing information, describes library article databases, books and reputable web sites. In addition help in APA citing and Evidence Based Practice are linked.

What is this page for?

This page provides research resources and tips

General Article Databases

General article databases have nursing journals and provide valuable sources. See tutorials on this page for searching these databases.

Try adding the truncation - nurs* to your searches (as a Subject or Publication term) when using a general database.

Nursing and Health Article Databases

The article databases listed below are directed at nurses, health professionals and anyone concerned with nursing, medicine and health.

Or try searching the A-Z List of databases and look under "Subjects", "Nursing", this is what it will look like:

What is a scholarly article?

For details, see our Scholarly Journals Guide

Some basics concepts that help identify a Scholarly Journal Article:

  • Report original research or experimentation, often in specific academic discipline      
  • The targeted audience is the scholarly researcher, faculty, and students
  • Articles are written by experts in the field, and are signed
  • Articles often use specialized jargon of the discipline, and assume a familiarity with the subject 
  • Illustrations are few, and support the text, typically in the form of data like charts, graphs, and maps
  • Often do not include advertisements.
  • Articles must undergo the peer review process prior to publication 
  • Articles usually include footnotes or bibliographies referencing other sources, using a standardized citation format

 Examples of Scholarly Journals:

  • Journal of Advanced Nursing
  • Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing
  • Nursing Ethics

Proquest Database Tutorial

Academic Search Complete Database Tutorial

Tips for Searching General Article Databases

Access written directions for searching the following databases. 

Database Searching Tips

Access written directions/tips for searching the following databases:

All Content CC-BY.