Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business 101 / English 101: Library Search

Resources for this learning community class.

Library Resources

  • The boxes on this page will help you search the Library Databases and OneSearch: the Library Catalog
  • Use the key words and search terms that you developed from the previous page.

Library Databases

Library databases are the best place to do research. They are a searchable electronic index of published, reliable resources. They provide access to research materials from academic journals, newspapers, and magazines. You will use your MYSVC/Canvas login information to access them.

Choose which database you'd like to look in from the A-Z list.
Or choose from the selected databases below:

Business related databases(hover over the "i" for more information)

General, frequently-used databases (for more help, see the video tutorials for the databases on this page)

To access any databases from home, use your MySVC/Canvas user name and password.

Proquest Database Tutorial

Academic Search Complete Database Tutorial

OneSearch - Library Catalog

  • You can look in the SVC library catalog for ALL of our resources at once. It's like Google for the library. 
     
  • In the results, you will see not only items that are physically in the library like books and DVDs, but online ones as well, like eBooks, online articles, open access and peer-reviewed articles. 
     
  •  Because you see so many results, OneSearch can be overwhelming so this may NOT be ideal as your first place to look. You might try a database search instead
     
  • If you don't see what you need, you can use the drop down menu to search "Library Catalog" to narrow down your results. 
     
  • In the box below, try typing in a keyword, title, author name (last, first), or subject. Try changing the search from "Everything" to "Library Catalog" 
     
  • The video tutorial on this page provides more details

OneSearch Video Tutorial

All Content CC-BY.