Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Research Guide: Black Lives Matter: Home

By Isabella Loy, Fall 2020, LIB 201

Introduction to the Topic

 

 Black Lives Matter (BLM) is a movement in which people are trying to fight for equality, and amplify black voices. While it has brought attention to black struggles, it has also opened a door to countless opinions and counter-movements. Has the BLM movement caused more harm than good for the black community? In researching the BLM movement, one can form their own opinions to answer these questions through reliable sources. 


 

 

Keywords for searching the topic

KEYWORDS 

BLM

- Police brutality

-Breonna Taylor

-George Floyd

-Protests

-Riots 

-Portland

-Seattle

-All lives matter

-Equality

-Social Justice

-Injustice

-Discrimination 

-Racism

Best Databases/Search Engines

MY FAVORITE DATABASES FOR BLM INFORMATION

Start Your Research Here

MY FAVORITE AND MOST HELPFUL REFERENCE RESOURCES. 

Kontos, Louis. "Police Brutality." Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice, Gary L. Anderson, Sage Publications, 1st edition, 2007. Credo Reference. Accessed 1 December 2020. search.credoreference.com/content/entry/sageact/police_brutality/0.

This source goes over police brutality. It gives background information as far as the history of police violence, as well as clear-cut definitions about what police brutality really entails. This is a great source because it also includes further readings at the bottom of the page, where one can dive deeper into learning about police brutality and the effect this violence has on victims. There has been a surge in police brutality cases in the past several months, so this topic should not be ignored. Louis Kontos, the author, has a B.A. Honors in Political Science, as well as an M.A. in Social and Political Thought.

Moore, Leonard. “Police Brutality in the United States.” Encyclopedia Britannica. 27 July 2020. Web. Accessed 1 December 2020, www.britannica.com/topic/Police-Brutality-in-the-United-States-2064580

I am including a couple of police brutality articles, mostly because the BLM and anti-police brutality movements go hand in hand. This article focuses on the issue specifically in the United States, which is helpful because it gives us a sense of what might be going on in our backyard. Moore goes over the effect police violence has on the African American community, and goes into detail about riots and anti brutality campaigns. The author of this article is a professor of history at the University of Texas, and regularly writes about black rage and police brutality.    

The Editors of Encyclopedia Britannica. “Black Lives Matter.” Encyclopedia Britannica. 13 August 2020. Web. Accessed 1 December 2020, www.britannica.com/topic/Black-Lives-Matter

This article is written by the editors of Encyclopedia Britannica, who “oversee subject areas in which they have extensive knowledge, whether from years of experience gained by working on that content or via study for an advanced degree.” This is another great, basic page where one can learn more about the BLM movement as a whole. It includes definitions, goals, history, and influence, while also including photos and helpful links at the bottom of the page to more research options. 


 

****Please note that the College is on remote operations due to concerns related to Covid -19. Find out about Library Services during this time.
All Content CC-BY.