Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Student Research Guide: Anxiety and Medicinal Cannabis: Home

By Kelsey McKinney, Fall 2020, LIB 201

Introduction to the Topic

Trigger Warning: The following Research Guide discusses anxiety, drug use, potential addiction, and related information.

This Research Guide follows the topic of anxiety/anxiety disorders and the use of medicinal marijuana, it's effects on anxiety, and overall the benefits as well as the negative impacts of using it. This Guide essentially looks to understand if medicinal marijuana is a safe and viable option for treating anxiety/anxiety disorders or if it is really a ploy to legalize marijuana for more societally acceptable use. Medicinal marijuana has faced much acceptance as well as much scrutiny when being analyzed for the purpose of treatment in the medical field, both of which this Research Guide will cover. There has already been extensive research done on this topic, however it is still a relatively recent subject and still needs more research and studies to be done for even more conclusive information. The purpose of this Research Guide is overall meant to look at the current information we have now on the relationship between anxiety and medicinal marijuana, and what this means for the medical field and those that struggle with anxiety.

Keywords for searching the topic

  • Anxiety
  • Anxiety Disorders
  • Anxiety AND Medicinal Marijuana
  • Cannabidiol
  • Cannabidiol AND Anxiety
  • Medicinal Cannabis
  • Medicinal Cannabis AND Anxiety
  • Medicinal Cannabis Treatment
  • Medicinal Marijuana
  • Medicinal Marijuana Treatment
  • Self-medication

Best Databases/Search Engines

  • Credo Reference Database
    • I found this database to be useful for my topic as it provides good general information about my topic, a basic understanding of medical marijuana as well as officially recognized perspectives on its legalization/use.
  • Facts on File: Issues and Controversies
    • I found this database helpful for my topic because it gave me very good information on my topic and information that related to my topic and provides statistical perspectives on the subject at hand.

Start Your Research Here

"Medical Marijuana: Primary Documents." Culture Wars in America: An Encyclopedia of Issues, Viewpoints, and Voices, edited by Roger Chapman, and James Ciment, Routledge, 2nd edition, 2013. Credo Reference, http://ezproxy.library.skagit.edu/login?url=https://search.credoreference.com/content/entry/sharpecw/medical_marijuana_primary_documents/0?institutionId=5696. Accessed 10 Dec. 2020.

This article focuses on medicinal marijuana and the official legal, scientific, and governmental perspectives on it. The article provides very detailed information that gets into the benefits and disadvantages of using medicinal marijuana, and an even deeper understanding of why it should and shouldn't be used in the medical field. This article provided great general information and scientific research for my topic specifically to the use of medicinal marijuana as a whole, and also provided professional opinions and statements on the use and legalization of medicinal marijuana.

 

"Psychedelic Drug Therapy: Should the Government Legalize Psychedelics for Therapeutic Use?" Issues & Controversies, Infobase, 13 Nov. 2020, http://ezproxy.library.skagit.edu/login?url=https://icof.infobaselearning.com/recordurl.aspx?wid=102912&ID=2506 Accessed 29 Nov. 2020.

This article gave a good general idea of the affect that certain drugs have on those that choose to use them for alleviating symptoms of mental health issues. This article, although not directly targeting my topic of the relation between medicinal cannabis and anxiety symptoms, still provides detailed information on the medicinal use of drugs within the same category as cannabis for mental health issues including anxiety, and gives a general idea of the different attitudes and perspectives that this concept faces

****Please note that the College is on remote operations due to concerns related to Covid -19. Find out about Library Services during this time.
All Content CC-BY.