Skip to main content

Nursing Research Guide: Home

This guide provides help in find reliable nursing information, describes library article databases, books and reputable web sites. In addition help in APA citing and Evidence Based Practice are linked.

Introduction

This Research Guide is an introduction to SVC Library services for nursing and allied health students. 

Here you will find:

  • Databases the library has and how to use them affectively
  • Links to valuable web sites

Ask A Librarian

Contact a librarian when you need assistance:

  • Mount Vernon: 360.416.7847 or mv.library@skagit.edu
  • Whidbey Island Campus: 360.675.5321 or libby.sullivan@skagit.edu

Assistance is available 24/7 - just click on ASK A LIBRARIAN at the library web page and follow the directions.

Start Here for Research

Check out the following databases and web site as you start your research:

  • Nursing Reference Center has access to information on diseases, conditions, drugs, nursing skills, patient resources and continuing education for nurses.
  • CINAHL with Full Text      CINAHL is considered the best article databases for nursing
  •  Science Direct                 Science Direct is a scholarly article database with a good health & nursing collection.  Be sure to selected Subscribed Journals and articles written after 2003!
  •  Purdue Online Writing Lab for APA    This web site is our favorite for explaining and illustrating how to use APA correctly
  •  Academic Search Premier and/or ProQuest Direct    Both these general article databases have nursing journals. 

 

****Please note that the College is on remote operations during Spring 2020 due to concerns related to Covid -19. All courses are online and campus locations are closed. Find out about Library Services during this time.