Research Guides: ELA Guide: Dictionaries

Visual Dictionaries

Visual dictionaries show a picture and then tell you what everything in the picture is called.

We have picture dictionaries and regular dictionaries for:

We also have dictionaries for English and:

The Firefly Spanish/English Visual Dictionary by Jean-Claude Corbeil; Ariane Archambault
Call Number: 463.17 CORBEIL
ISBN: 1554077176
Publication Date: 2010
Japanese English visual bilingual dictionary
Call Number: 495.6321 BILINGU
ISBN: 1405359846
Publication Date: 2001
New Oxford Picture Dictionary
Call Number: ESL 491.7 Parnell
ISBN: 019434651X
English only
Oxford Picture Dictionary by Oxford Dictionary; Jayme Adelson-Goldstein; Norma Shapiro
Call Number: 423.17 ADELSON
ISBN: 0194505294
Publication Date: 2016
Oxford Picture Dictionary - English-Russian by Jayme Adelson-Goldstein; Norma Shapiro
Call Number: ESL 491.7 ADELSON
ISBN: 9780194740173
Publication Date: 2008-08-15
Oxford Picture Dictionary. English-Chinese
Call Number: ESL 423.951 Shaprio
ISBN: 0194351890
Punjabi dictionary & phrasebook
Call Number: 491.4 MANAMOH
ISBN: 078181300X
Publication Date: 2013
Ukrainian-English - English-Ukrainian Practical Dictionary by Leonid Hrabovsky
Call Number: 491.79 HRABOVS
ISBN: 0781803063
Publication Date: 1994

Cambridge Dictionaries Online
This dictionary speaks the word
Little Explorers Picture Dictionary
English and bilingual picture dictionary
Longman Dictionary of Contemporary English
This dictionary can be searched by individual word or browsed by topic, and includes audio pronunciations for selected words and sentences.
Merriam-Webster Online
Merriam-Webster's Learner's Dictionary
In addition to a dictionary of American English for ESL / EFL students, this site includes a Learner's Word of the Day, pronunciation exercises, quizzes, and an Ask the Editors blog dispensing language advice.
WordReference.com
WordReference consists of free bilingual dictionaries, including these dictionaries from Oxford: English to Spanish, Spanish to English; English to French, French to English; and English to Italian, Italian to English. In addition, WordReference features Language Forums, in which non-native speakers can ask native speakers their grammar and vocabulary questions. Forums currently exist for English, German, Dutch, Spanish, French and Italian.