Skip to main content

Chinese Culture: Home

This is a beginning level guide for finding information on various aspects of Chinese Culture.

Introduction

This Research Guide is an introduction to SVC Library services for students. 

Here you will find:

  • article and film databases the library has and how to use them affectively
  • links to valuable web sites
  • Library  materials (books, DVDs, etc.)

Contact a librarian when you need assistance:

  • Mount Vernon: 360.416.7847 or mv.library@skagit.edu
  • Whidbey Island Campus: 360.675.5321 or chari.mcrill@skagit.edu

Assistance is available 24/7 - just click on ASK A LIBRARIAN at the library web page and follow the directions.

Some of the BEST

I feel the following are great places to start your research.  Just click on the titlles in color to access.  If you are using a database off campus you will be asked to logon with your SVC logon and password.

  • Two article databases EBSCOhost and  ProQuest Direct have journal, magazine and newspaper articles in the thousands.  You can read most of the articles online, find how to cite them properly, print or e-mail them.  
  •  CQ Researcher - is a weekly publication on a topic of current interest which is often in the sociology area.  Our database of CQ Researcher articles is full-text and provides a good starting place to learn all the background information on topics covered.
  • Films on Demand is a database of documentary films and film clips in the Social Sciences.  If you need a film clip for a report or presentation Films on Demand is the place to look.   
  •  Encyclopedia of race and ethnic studies  is an eBook available from the library online catalog.   

 

SVC Librarian

Margret Mills's picture
Margret Mills
Contact:
Skagit Valley College

Norwood Cole Library

360-416-7760